QUANTEC Toxicity Risk Metrics
Organ-specific dose/volume topics covered by the QUANTEC reviews, each routing to the paper behind it.
How to use this page
The dose/volume tolerance guidance on this site comes from the original QUANTEC reviews, published as a special issue of the International Journal of Radiation Oncology Biology Physics. This page routes you to them: find the organ system, then follow it to the review that carries its metrics.
Dose/volume/outcome values are stated directly in the tables below, for every organ the QUANTEC summary table covers. They are transcribed from that one table, with its authors' own caveats reproduced verbatim above them, and each table names the review its organ belongs to and the page its rows came from.
By organ system
Central Nervous System
- Spinal cord dose-volume effects
- Brain necrosis and cognitive decline
- Brainstem injury
- Optic nerves and chiasm dose-volume-response
Brain, brainstem, optic nerve and spinal cord values are tabulated below.
Head and Neck
- Parotid gland salivary function preservation
- Cochlear dose metrics
- Larynx/Pharynx dose-volume-response
Cochlea, parotid, pharynx and larynx values are tabulated below.
Cardiovascular System
- Heart dose-volume data
- Pericarditis
- Cardiac mortality
- Cardiac toxicity models
Heart dose/volume values are tabulated below, esophagus in the Thorax tables below.
Respiratory System
- Lung V20 data
- Mean lung dose correlates
- Pneumonitis risk models
- Trachea/bronchi guidelines
Lung dose/volume values are tabulated below. Trachea and bronchi were not covered by the original QUANTEC reviews, so that topic has no paper to link to.
Gastrointestinal System
- Small bowel dose-volume data
- Liver dose correlates
- Kidney function preservation
- Gastric dose metrics
- Rectal toxicity
- Esophageal dose-volume correlates
Liver, stomach, small bowel and kidney values are tabulated below, esophagus in the Thorax tables and rectum and bladder in the Pelvis tables. Bladder is covered by the Genitourinary and Pelvis panel. These reviews sit under Abdomen, Pelvis and Thorax on the Publications page — each topic links to its own.
Genitourinary and Pelvis
- Bladder dose-volume effects
- Rectal toxicity
- Penile bulb
Bladder, rectum and penile bulb values are tabulated below.
Dose/volume/outcome data
Every row below is transcribed from a single source — Table 1 of the QUANTEC summary paper — and carries the page it appears on. All 18 organ entries in that table are now published.
Read this first. These footnotes are the QUANTEC authors’ own, reproduced verbatim, because they govern how the values below may be used and what the notation means.
All data are estimated from the literature summarized in the QUANTEC reviews unless otherwise noted. Clinically, these data should be applied with caution. Clinicians are strongly advised to use the individual QUANTEC articles to check the applicability of these correlates to the clinical situation at hand. They largely do not reflect modern IMRT.
All at standard fractionation (i.e., 1.8–2.0 Gy per daily fraction) unless otherwise noted. Vx is the volume of the organ receiving ≥ x Gy. Dmax = Maximum radiation dose.
Dx = minimum dose received by the “hottest” x% (or x cc’s) of the organ.
Classic Radiation induced liver disease (RILD) involves anicteric hepatomegaly and ascites, typically occurring between 2 weeks and 3 months after therapy. Classic RILD also involves elevated alkaline phosphatase (more than twice the upper limit of normal or baseline value).
Source for these footnotes and every table below: Marks LB, Yorke ED, Jackson A, et al. “Use of Normal Tissue Complication Probability Models in the Clinic.” IJROBP 2010;76(3 Suppl):S10–S19, Table 1 (pp. S15–S18).
Central nervous system
| Technique | Fractionation | Dose / dose-volume parameter | Rate | Notes on dose/volume parameters |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 3D-CRT | Conventional (1.8–2.0 Gy/fraction) | Dmax <60 Gy | <3% | Data at 72 and 90 Gy, extrapolated from BED models |
| Dmax = 72 Gy | 5% | |||
| Dmax = 90 Gy | 10% | |||
| SRS | Single fraction | V12 <5–10 cc | <20% | Rapid rise when V12 > 5–10 cc |
Apply with caution — these are estimates; check applicability against the organ review itself. The source records these rows as 3D-CRT (3-dimensional conformal radiotherapy) and SRS (stereotactic radiosurgery). Transcribed from Table 1, p. S15. Organ review: Lawrence YR, Li XA, El Naqa I, et al., “Radiation Dose–Volume Effects in the Brain”, S20–S27.
| Technique | Fractionation | Dose / dose-volume parameter | Rate | Notes on dose/volume parameters |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 3D-CRT | Conventional (1.8–2.0 Gy/fraction) | Dmax <54 Gy | <5% | |
| D1–10 cc ≤59 Gy | <5% | |||
| Dmax <64 Gy | <5% | Point dose <<1 cc | ||
| SRS | Single fraction | Dmax <12.5 Gy | <5% | For patients with acoustic tumors |
Apply with caution — these are estimates; check applicability against the organ review itself. The source records the Dmax <54 Gy row as “Whole organ” and the other two conventional rows as “3D-CRT”; all three are presented here as 3D-CRT (3-dimensional conformal radiotherapy). The remaining row is SRS (stereotactic radiosurgery) in the source. Transcribed from Table 1, p. S15. Organ review: Mayo C, Yorke E, Merchant TE, “Radiation Associated Brainstem Injury”, S36–S41.
| Technique | Fractionation | Dose / dose-volume parameter | Rate | Notes on dose/volume parameters |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 3D-CRT | Conventional (1.8–2.0 Gy/fraction) | Dmax <55 Gy | <3% | Given the small size, 3D-CRT is often whole organ |
| Dmax 55–60 Gy | 3–7% | |||
| Dmax >60 Gy | >7–20% | |||
| SRS | Single fraction | Dmax <12 Gy | <10% |
Apply with caution — these are estimates; check applicability against the organ review itself. The source records these rows as 3D-CRT (3-dimensional conformal radiotherapy) and SRS (stereotactic radiosurgery). Transcribed from Table 1, p. S15. Organ review: Mayo C, Martel MK, Marks LB, et al., “Radiation Dose–Volume Effects of Optic Nerves and Chiasm”, S28–S35. Table 1 adds that the neuropathy cases in the 55–60 Gy range received ≥59 Gy, and excludes patients with pituitary tumours, where tolerance may be reduced.
| Technique | Fractionation | Dose / dose-volume parameter | Rate | Notes on dose/volume parameters |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 3D-CRT | Conventional (1.8–2.0 Gy/fraction) | Dmax = 50 Gy | 0.2% | Including full cord cross-section |
| Dmax = 60 Gy | 6% | |||
| Dmax = 69 Gy | 50% | |||
| SRS | Single fraction | Dmax = 13 Gy | 1% | Partial cord cross-section irradiated |
| 3 fractions | Dmax = 20 Gy | 1% | Partial cord cross-section irradiated |
Apply with caution — these are estimates; check applicability against the organ review itself. The source records these rows as 3D-CRT (3-dimensional conformal radiotherapy) and SRS (stereotactic radiosurgery). Transcribed from Table 1, p. S15. Organ review: Kirkpatrick JP, van der Kogel AJ, Schultheiss TE, “Radiation Dose–Volume Effects in the Spinal Cord”, S42–S49.
Head and neck
| Technique | Fractionation | Dose / dose-volume parameter | Rate | Notes on dose/volume parameters |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 3D-CRT | Conventional (1.8–2.0 Gy/fraction) | Mean dose ≤45 Gy | <30% | Mean dose to cochlear, hearing at 4 kHz |
| SRS | Single fraction | Prescription dose ≤14 Gy | <25% | Serviceable hearing |
Apply with caution — these are estimates; check applicability against the organ review itself. The source records these rows as 3D-CRT (3-dimensional conformal radiotherapy) and SRS (stereotactic radiosurgery). Transcribed from Table 1, p. S15. Organ review: Bhandare N, Jackson A, Eisbruch A, et al., “Radiation Therapy and Hearing Loss”, S50–S57.
| Volume segmented | Dose / dose-volume parameter | Rate | Notes on dose/volume parameters |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bilateral whole parotid glands | Mean dose <25 Gy | <20% | For combined parotid glands |
| Unilateral whole parotid gland | Mean dose <20 Gy | <20% | For single parotid gland. At least one parotid gland spared to <20 Gy |
| Bilateral whole parotid glands | Mean dose <39 Gy | <50% | For combined parotid glands (per Fig. 3 in paper) |
Apply with caution — these are estimates; check applicability against the organ review itself. The source records these rows as 3D-CRT (3-dimensional conformal radiotherapy). Transcribed from Table 1, p. S15–S16. Organ review: Deasy JO, Moiseenko V, Marks L, et al., “Radiotherapy Dose–Volume Effects on Salivary Gland Function”, S58–S63. Table 1 notes that severe xerostomia also depends on other factors, including dose to the submandibular glands.
| Volume segmented | Dose / dose-volume parameter | Rate | Notes on dose/volume parameters |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pharyngeal constrictors | Mean dose <50 Gy | <20% | Based on Section B4 in paper |
Apply with caution — these are estimates; check applicability against the organ review itself. The source records this row’s irradiation type as “Whole organ”; it is presented here as 3D-CRT (3-dimensional conformal radiotherapy). Transcribed from Table 1, p. S16. Organ review: Rancati T, Schwarz M, Allen AM, et al., “Radiation Dose–Volume Effects in the Larynx and Pharynx”, S64–S69.
| Endpoint | Dose / dose-volume parameter | Rate | Notes on dose/volume parameters |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vocal dysfunction | Dmax <66 Gy | <20% | With chemotherapy, based on single study (see Section A4.2 in paper) |
| Aspiration | Mean dose <50 Gy | <30% | With chemotherapy, based on single study (see Fig. 1 in paper) |
| Edema | Mean dose <44 Gy | <20% | Without chemotherapy, based on single study in patients without larynx cancer |
| V50 <27% | <20% |
Apply with caution — these are estimates; check applicability against the organ review itself. The source records these rows as 3D-CRT (3-dimensional conformal radiotherapy). Transcribed from Table 1, p. S16. Organ review: Rancati T, Schwarz M, Allen AM, et al., “Radiation Dose–Volume Effects in the Larynx and Pharynx”, S64–S69. Table 1 attributes the edema rows to an estimate by Dr Eisbruch.
Thorax
| Dose / dose-volume parameter | Rate | Notes on dose/volume parameters |
|---|---|---|
| V20 ≤ 30% | <20% | For combined lung. Gradual dose response |
| Mean dose = 7 Gy | 5% | Excludes purposeful whole lung irradiation |
| Mean dose = 13 Gy | 10% | |
| Mean dose = 20 Gy | 20% | |
| Mean dose = 24 Gy | 30% | |
| Mean dose = 27 Gy | 40% |
Apply with caution — these are estimates; check applicability against the organ review itself. The source records these rows as 3D-CRT (3-dimensional conformal radiotherapy). Transcribed from Table 1, p. S16. Organ review: Marks LB, Bentzen SM, Deasy JO, et al., “Radiation Dose–Volume Effects in the Lung”, S70–S76. The lung review itself notes (p. S72) that “it is likely that the MLD–RP relationship may have lower predictive power for ‘nonstandard’ dose distributions not included in these analyses, for example after stereotactic body radiotherapy (SBRT), Intensity-Modulated Radiation Therapy (IMRT), or proton therapy.” That review also states there are no evident threshold tolerance dose–volume levels for lung; the values above are points on a gradual dose response, not thresholds. Table 1 carries no V30 row for lung — V20 is the only Vx it gives, and it must not be read as covering V30. The source states one note across all five mean-dose rows: excludes purposeful whole lung irradiation.
| Volume segmented | Endpoint | Dose / dose-volume parameter | Rate | Notes on dose/volume parameters |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pericardium | Pericarditis | Mean dose < 26 Gy | <15% | Based on single study |
| V30 < 46% | <15% | |||
| Whole organ | Long-term cardiac mortality | V25 < 10% | <1% | Overly safe risk estimate based on model predictions |
Apply with caution — these are estimates; check applicability against the organ review itself. The source records these rows as 3D-CRT (3-dimensional conformal radiotherapy). Transcribed from Table 1, p. S16. Organ review: Gagliardi G, Constine LS, Moiseenko V, et al., “Radiation Dose–Volume Effects in the Heart”, S77–S85.
| Endpoint | Dose / dose-volume parameter | Rate | Notes on dose/volume parameters |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grade ≥3 acute esophagitis | Mean dose <34 Gy | 5–20% | Based on RTOG and several studies |
| Grade ≥2 acute esophagitis | V35 <50% | <30% | A variety of alternate threshold doses have been implicated. Appears to be a dose/volume response |
| V50 <40% | <30% | ||
| V70 <20% | <30% |
Apply with caution — these are estimates; check applicability against the organ review itself. The source records these rows as 3D-CRT (3-dimensional conformal radiotherapy). Transcribed from Table 1, p. S16. Organ review: Werner-Wasik M, Yorke E, Deasy J, et al., “Radiation Dose–Volume Effects in the Esophagus”, S86–S93.
Abdomen
| Volume segmented | Technique | Fractionation | Dose / dose-volume parameter | Rate | Notes on dose/volume parameters |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Whole liver − GTV | 3D-CRT | Conventional (1.8–2.0 Gy/fraction) | Mean dose <30–32 Gy | <5% | Excluding patients with pre-existing liver disease or hepatocellular carcinoma, as tolerance doses are lower in these patients |
| Mean dose <42 Gy | <50% | ||||
| Mean dose <28 Gy | <5% | In patients with Child-Pugh A pre-existing liver disease or hepatocellular carcinoma, excluding hepatitis B reactivation as an endpoint | |||
| Mean dose <36 Gy | <50% | ||||
| SBRT | 3 fractions | Mean dose <13 Gy | <5% | For primary liver cancer | |
| Mean dose <15 Gy | <5% | For liver metastases | |||
| 6 fractions | Mean dose <18 Gy | <5% | For primary liver cancer | ||
| Mean dose <20 Gy | <5% | For liver metastases | |||
| >700 cc of normal liver | 3–5 fractions | Dmax <15 Gy | <5% | Critical volume based |
Apply with caution — these are estimates; check applicability against the organ review itself. The source records the two <5% conventional rows as “3D-CRT or Whole organ” and the two <50% conventional rows as “3D-CRT”; all four are presented here as 3D-CRT (3-dimensional conformal radiotherapy). The remaining rows are SBRT (stereotactic body radiotherapy) in the source. Rows are ordered by technique and then by number of fractions, which is not the source’s row order; no dose, rate or note has been paired differently. Transcribed from Table 1, p. S17. Organ review: Pan CC, Kavanagh BD, Dawson LA, et al., “Radiation-Associated Liver Injury”, S94–S100. The four SBRT rows are confirmed verbatim by that review, which recommends mean normal liver dose <13 Gy (primary, three fractions), <18 Gy (primary, six), <15 Gy (metastases, three) and <20 Gy (metastases, six), plus a critical-volume constraint of ≥700 mL receiving ≤15 Gy in three to five fractions.
| Dose / dose-volume parameter | Rate | Notes on dose/volume parameters |
|---|---|---|
| Mean dose <15–18 Gy | <5% | |
| Mean dose <28 Gy | <50% | |
| V12 <55%, V20 <32%, V23 <30%, V28 <20% | <5% | For combined kidney. The review lists these four separately, each from a different study — not stated to be one set |
Apply with caution — these are estimates; check applicability against the organ review itself. The source records the three rows’ irradiation type as “Bilateral whole organ or 3D-CRT”, “Bilateral whole organ” and “3D-CRT” respectively; all three are presented here as 3D-CRT (3-dimensional conformal radiotherapy), with the bilateral whole-kidney volume carried in the caption. Transcribed from Table 1, p. S17. Organ review: Dawson LA, Kavanagh BD, Paulino AC, et al., “Radiation-Associated Kidney Injury”, S108–S115. Rows 1 and 2 are cross-confirmed by that review, which reports a threshold of 15 Gy and 5% and 50% risk at 18 Gy and 28 Gy for whole-kidney RT. Its Table 5, headed “suggested dose–volume constraints for estimated risk of <5%”, carries all four of the constraints above, each attributed to a study: V12 <55% (Welz et al.), V20 <32% (Jansen et al.), V23 <30% and V28 <20% (Nevinny-Stickel et al.). These four are not a single set. Table 5 gives each its own row under “partial kidney irradiation”, with its own investigator, and the review’s only reference to that table calls its contents “some broad guidelines” that “will hopefully be tested in future studies”, adding that “all dose–volume recommendations are associated with substantial uncertainty”. Neither Table 1 nor the review states that the four must be met together, so — unlike the rectum and bladder sets on this page — they should not be read as one conjunctive constraint.
| Dose / dose-volume parameter | Rate | Notes on dose/volume parameters |
|---|---|---|
| D100 <45 Gy | <7% |
Apply with caution — these are estimates; check applicability against the organ review itself. The source records this row’s irradiation type as “Whole organ”; it is presented here as 3D-CRT (3-dimensional conformal radiotherapy). Transcribed from Table 1, p. S17. Organ review: Kavanagh BD, Pan CC, Dawson LA, et al., “Radiation Dose–Volume Effects in the Stomach and Small Bowel”, S101–S107. That review notes no comparable predictive model of acute toxicity is available for stomach.
| Volume segmented | Dose / dose-volume parameter | Rate | Notes on dose/volume parameters |
|---|---|---|---|
| Individual small bowel loops | V15 <120 cc | <10% | Volume based on segmentation of the individual loops of bowel, not the entire potential peritoneal space |
| Entire potential space within peritoneal cavity | V45 <195 cc | <10% | Volume based on the entire potential space within the peritoneal cavity |
Apply with caution — these are estimates; check applicability against the organ review itself. The source records these rows as 3D-CRT (3-dimensional conformal radiotherapy). Transcribed from Table 1, p. S17. Organ review: Kavanagh BD, Pan CC, Dawson LA, et al., “Radiation Dose–Volume Effects in the Stomach and Small Bowel”, S101–S107. Both rows are confirmed by that review: “V15 = 120 cc if individual bowel loops are outlined or V45 = 195 cc if entire peritoneal potential space of bowel is outlined”.
Pelvis
| Endpoint | Dose / dose-volume parameter | Rate |
|---|---|---|
| Grade ≥2 late rectal toxicity | V50 <50%, V60 <35%, V65 <25%, V70 <20%, V75 <15% | <15% |
| Grade ≥3 late rectal toxicity | V50 <50%, V60 <35%, V65 <25%, V70 <20%, V75 <15% | <10% |
Apply with caution — these are estimates; check applicability against the organ review itself. The source records these rows as 3D-CRT (3-dimensional conformal radiotherapy). Transcribed from Table 1, p. S18. Organ review: Michalski JM, Gay H, Jackson A, et al., “Radiation Dose–Volume Effects in Radiation-Induced Rectal Injury”, S123–S129. The five constraints are a single set, not independent rows: that review states they are “a conservative starting point for 3D treatment planning” and that “for typical DVHs, the NTCP models predict that following these constraints should limit Grade ≥2 late rectal toxicity to <15% and the probability of Grade ≥3 late rectal toxicity to <10% for prescriptions up to 79.2 Gy in standard 1.8- to 2-Gy fractions” — both rates are a model prediction conditional on DVH shape, not an observed outcome. It also notes the constraints have yet to be validated as relatively safe. Table 1’s own Notes cell for this row reads simply “Prostate cancer treatment”, which is carried in the caption above — so this table has no Notes column rather than an empty one, and nothing has been dropped.
| Dose / dose-volume parameter | Rate | Notes on dose/volume parameters |
|---|---|---|
| Dmax <65 Gy | <6% | Bladder cancer treatment. Variations in bladder size/shape/location during RT hamper ability to generate accurate data |
| V65 ≤50%, V70 ≤35%, V75 ≤25%, V80 ≤15% | Not stated | Prostate cancer treatment. Based on current RTOG 0415 recommendation. The four correlates are a single constraint, met together — not alternatives |
Apply with caution — these are estimates; check applicability against the organ review itself. The source records these rows as 3D-CRT (3-dimensional conformal radiotherapy). Transcribed from Table 1, p. S18. Organ review: Viswanathan AN, Yorke ED, Marks LB, et al., “Radiation Dose–Volume Effects of the Urinary Bladder”, S116–S122. No complication rate is given for the second row, and that blank is in the source: the bladder review offers those correlates “in the absence of any reliable data”, citing the conventional-fractionation arm of RTOG 0415. Those four correlates are one constraint, not four alternatives. That review describes the trial as having “included a solid bladder constraint of” the four volumes, stating them in a single sentence joined by “and” — so, as with the rectum set above, they are met together. The kidney Vx values above are the opposite case, and are annotated as such.
| Dose / dose-volume parameter | Rate | Notes on dose/volume parameters |
|---|---|---|
| Mean dose to 95% of gland <50 Gy | <35% | |
| D90 <50 Gy | <35% | |
| D60–70 <70 Gy | <55% |
Apply with caution — these are estimates; check applicability against the organ review itself. The source records these rows as 3D-CRT (3-dimensional conformal radiotherapy). Transcribed from Table 1, p. S18. Organ review: Roach M III, Nam J, Gagliardi G, et al., “Radiation Dose–Volume Effects and the Penile Bulb”, S130–S134.
NTCP Models
Normal tissue complication probability models are described in the introductory QUANTEC paper, Use of Normal Tissue Complication Probability Models in the Clinic, which presents a clinician's view on applying QUANTEC information alongside a description of the most commonly used NTCP models.
Read: Use of Normal Tissue Complication Probability Models in the Clinic
Questions or Corrections?
For the underlying clinical evidence, the original QUANTEC papers on our Publications page are the best reference. If you spot an error on this site or have a suggestion, we'd love to hear from you.